AICPA awards accounting educators | Accounting Today

The American Institute of CPAs named the recipients of the 2022 Effective Learning Strategies Awards to college and university educators, and also honored four other professors for excellence in teaching, literature and advancing the profession.

The winners of the 2022 Bea Sanders/AICPA Teaching Innovation Award for innovative teaching in the first accounting sequence (first- and second-year studies) were Wendy Tietz of Kent State University, Tracie Miller-Nobles of Franklin University and Jennifer Cainas of the University of South Florida. The winner of the 2022 George Krull/Grant Thornton Teaching Innovation Award for innovative teaching in junior- and senior-level accounting courses was Kimberly Young of Greenville Technical College in South Carolina. An honorable mention went to Hagit Levy-Shalev of Baruch College.

The 2022 Mark Chain/FSA Teaching Innovation Award for innovative graduate-level accounting teaching practices went to Perry Moore of Lipscomb University. The winners will share their work at the American Accounting Association annual meeting in San Diego.

“We thank the AAA for granting these educators a platform to present their exciting cases,” said Anna Howard, senior manager of academic initiatives for the AICPA, in a statement. “We appreciate the support from the FSA and Grant Thornton to help encourage innovative ideas in accounting education.”

In addition, winners will receive $5,000 and a commemorative vase (honorable mentions will receive $500). The materials from the submissions will be posted to the Academic Resource Databasealongside past winners.

The AICPA also honored four professors for their excellence in teaching, literature, and advancing the profession. The recipient of the 2022 AICPA Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award was D. Scott Showalter, professor of accounting at North Carolina State University. The winners of the 2022 Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award were Eli Bartov of New York University, Lucile Faurel of Arizona State University and Partha S. Mohanram of the University of Toronto.


Leave a Comment